Fire Conditions


July 2, 2020 – Stage 2 Fire Restrictions are in place for unincorporated areas of Douglas County.


Not allowed:

  • Open burning of any kind.
  • Use of fireworks – including professional firework displays
  • Use of fires in chimineas, other portable fireplaces or patio fire pits.
  • Campfires at developed campgrounds or picnic areas.


  • Fires within liquid-fueled or gas-fueled stoves, grills, fire pits or other gas or liquid fueled appliance.
  • Residential use of charcoal grill fires when such use is supervised by a responsible party at least 18 years of age.
  • Fires contained within fire places and wood burning stoves within buildings only
  • Fire suppression or fire department training fires.

Violation of these fire restrictions is a Class-2 Petty Offense, punishable by up to a $1000.00 fine and a $10.00 surcharge.

For more information about fire restrictions, read the Douglas County Ordinance O-012-004.

For more information about how fire restrictions decisions are made, read the Douglas County Fire Restriction Criteria and Methodology.


Jefferson County, Colorado

Fire Restrictions Implemented

Effective at 3:00 p.m. on March 31, 2020, Jefferson County Sheriff Jeff Shrader will implement temporary Stage 1 Fire Restrictions for all lands in Unincorporated Jefferson County.

Pursuant to the Annual Operating Plan regarding the implementation of Fire Restrictions and Fire Bans; and due to the continuing high fire danger condition within Jefferson County, Stage 1 Fire Restrictions are being enacted. This temporary Fire Ban becomes effective at 3:00 P.M. on March 31, 2020, and shall remain in effect until superseded or repealed.

Information about what is prohibited and allowed during a fire restriction can be found on the fire restriction detail webpage:

Additional Information

For information and details on fire restrictions, see the Fire Restriction Details web page.  

Pursuant to 16 U.S.C. § 551 and 36 CFR § 261.50 (a) and (b), the following acts are prohibited on all National Forest System lands administered as National Forests or National Grasslands within the Rocky Mountain Region (Region 2) of the United States Department of Agriculture, Forest Service in the States of Colorado, Kansas, South Dakota, and Wyoming.
This Regional Order is supplemental to and does not rescind or replace those restrictions at 36 C.F.R. § 261 Subpart A, and/or any Forest Supervisor Order issued under 36 C.F.R. § 261 Subpart B. The purpose of this Order is to protect public health, safety, and natural resources by preventing wildfires, as Firefighting and Law Enforcement resources are limited, during the COVID-19 pandemic. COVID-19 has been declared a National Emergency.
National Forests (“NF”) and National Grasslands (“NGL”):
Arapaho & Roosevelt NF Grand Mesa, Uncompahgre, and Gunnison NF
Routt NF
Pike & San Isabel NF Rio Grande NF
San Juan NF
White River NF Comanche NGL Pawnee NGL
Cimarron NGL
Black Hills NF Buffalo Gap NG Fort Pierre NGL
Nebraska & Samuel R. McKelvie NF Oglala NGL
Bighorn NF Medicine Bow NF Shoshone NF Thunder Basin NGL Black Hills NF
PROHIBITIONS: This Order prohibits the following acts in the Areas listed above:
1. Igniting, building, maintaining, attending or using a fire, including charcoal grills and barbecues,
coal and wood burning stoves, and sheepherder’s stoves. 36 CFR §261.52(a).
2. Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle, trailer, or building. 36 CFR § 261.52(c).
Pursuant to 36 CFR § 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from specified Prohibitions of this Order:
1. Persons with a Forest Permit, Form FS-7700-48, specifically exempting them from the

effect of this Order in the areas listed above.
2. Any Federal, State or local officer or member of an organized rescue or firefighting force in the performance of an official duty is exempt from Prohibitions.
3. Persons using pressurized liquid or gas devices (stoves, grills or lanterns) with shut-off valves in an area at least three feet from any flammable materials are exempt from Prohibition #1.
4. Residents, owners or lessees within the areas listed above who are using a fire in a permanent dwelling with an effective and properly installed USDA- or SAE- approved spark arrestor, are exempt from Prohibition #1.
Notice regarding Exemptions: Holders of valid Forest Service permits, leases and authorizations and all other persons are on notice that when proceeding with activities that are authorized pursuant to these Exemptions, such persons are responsible for conducting authorized activities in a safe and prudent manner using extra precautions and are electing to proceed at their own risk. An exemption does not absolve an individual or organization from liability or responsibility for damage, injury or loss to the United States for any fire started while undertaking the exempted activity.
th st
This Order will be in effect from 12:01 am on April 7 , 2020 and will remain in force until May 31 , 2020
or until rescinded, whichever event occurs first.
Executed in Lakewood, Colorado this 7th day of April, 2020.
Jennifer Eberlien Regional Forester Rocky Mountain Region
A violation of the prohibitions in this Order is punishable as a Class B misdemeanor by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an individual or $10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for notmore than 6 months, or both. (16 U.S.C. § 551 and 18 U.S.C §§ 3559 and 3571).